FX Announces ‘Sex Pistols’ Miniseries Debut Date On Hulu


“Pistol,” a new limited series about the career of “Sex Pistols” guitarist Steve Jones, will premiere on Hulu on May 31, FX has announced.

Based on Jones’ 2017 memoir “Lonely Boy: Tales from a Sex Pistol”, “Pistol” follows the brief but influential career of the Sex Pistols, a 1970s British punk band that produced just one album but is considered one of the most important. acts in rock-n-roll history. The central character of the series is Jones, played by Toby Wallace. Anson Boon also stars as John Lydon, while Christian Lees as Glen Matlock, Louis Partridge as Sid Vicious and Jacob Slater as Paul Cook round out the rest of the band as featured on the show. The series also features Sydney Chandler, Talulah Riley, Maisie Williams, Emma Appleton and Thomas Brodie-Sangster.

“Pistol” was created by Craig Pearce, who writes the series. Each episode is directed by Danny Boyle, who produces alongside Pearce, Jones, Tracey Seaward, Gail Lyon, Anita Camarata, Paul Lee and Hope Hartman. The series is produced by FX Productions.

All six episodes of “Pistol” will launch on May 31 on Hulu, via the FX portal. Outside the United States, the miniseries will stream on Disney Plus.

Also in today’s TV news roundup:


The new Spanish-language streaming service Vix will be available on the Roku platform in the United States and Latin America, TelevisaUnivision has announced. As part of the agreement between the two companies, new Roku TVs distributed in Latin America will include a dedicated Vix shortcut button. The free ad-based video-on-demand channel will launch on Thursday.


The Television Academy has announced the winners of the 41st College Television Awards, recognizing excellence in student-produced programming nationwide. Brigham Young University’s “Stowaway” and “Life’s Journey” won Best Animated Series and Best Commercial, University of Miami’s “SportsDesk” won Best News Program and sports, New York University’s “Eagles Rest in Liangshan” won Best Nonfiction or Reality Series and Savannah College of Art and Design’s “Our Side” won Best Scripted Series. . Each winner received a cash prize of $3,000. In addition to the five main categories, the $10,000 Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship, which is awarded to students whose work centers on the experiences of people with disabilities, was awarded to Taylor University students Chad Veal and Brendan Wallace for their production “20 Over.” The $4,000 Seymour Bricker Humanitarian Prize, which is awarded to students whose project highlights a humanitarian issue, was awarded to “Eagles Rest in Liangshan.” Read the full list of winners below.

Animation Series:

“Stowaway” (Brigham Young University – UT)
Tyler Bitner, producer
Ethan Briscoe, director/screenwriter

Commercial, PSA or Promo:

“The Journey of Life” (Brigham Young University – UT)
Rebekah Baker, Producer
Campbell George, writer
Asher Huskinson, Director
Tyler Richardson, director

News and Sports

“SportsDesk” (University of Miami)
Danyel De Villiers, Producer
Julia Hecht, director
Michelle Ng-Reyes, writer
Brendan Reilly, writer
Gianna Sanchez, producer
Maxwell Trink, writer
Jenna Weiss, producer
Josh White, writer

Non-fiction or reality series

“Eagles Rest in Liangshan” (New York University)
Bohao Liu, producer/director/screenwriter

Scripted series

“Our Side” (Savannah College of Art and Design)
Emily Dillard, Producer/Writer
Nicola Rinciari, director/screenwriter


College Board and Telemundo have awarded 42 high school students college scholarships, the two companies announced. The scholarships were awarded as part of the Triunfadores campaign, which provides advice to Spanish-speaking families going through the college application process. Two students each received a $40,000 scholarship, while an additional 40 students received a $500 scholarship to pay for expenses related to the college application process. All winners reported an annual household income of less than $60,000 or were eligible for fee waivers from the school board.


David Duchovny, Simone Ashley and Del Amitri will be guests on “Jimmy Kimmel Live” on Monday, while John Oliver, Lana Condor and musical guests Buddy and Blxst will appear on “The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon.” “Late Night With Seth Meyers” will feature Mariska Hargitay, Christopher Meloni and Maren Morris, while “The Late Late Show With James Corden” will feature Rose McIver, Tony Hawk and Yungblud.


Comments are closed.